THE BOOK OF EVERYTHING: back in Sydney this week

Matthew Whittet is simply superb as nine (nearly ten) year old Thomas Klopper. Photo: Heidrun Lohr.

Okay, let’s be up front about this. I’m using my blog to plug my play, because it’s a production I’m immensely proud to be part of.

The Book of Everything will be back in Sydney for short season before it goes to the New Victory Theatre, 42nd St, New York in 2012, and I do want everyone to see it. Daytime schools performances are already sold out, but tickets are still available for evening and school holiday sessions.

To fill in those who may not know about it…

Three years ago I was commissioned by Kim Carpenter’s Theatre of Image to write a stage adaptation of Dutch author Guus Kuijer’s novel The Book of Everything (Het boek van alle dingen in the original Dutch). It is a beautiful story of an imaginative young boy’s difficult childhood, set in Amsterdam as it emerged from WWII.

Early last year Theatre of Image and Belvoir St Theatre in Sydney mounted a super production led by Neil Armfield (in the opinion of many Australia’s greatest theatre director.) It was a tremendous critical and box office success, as it has been in Adelaide and Wollongong this year. For some audience reaction on YouTube, click here.

There is also a short excerpt from the play on YouTube – to see it click here.

And though I say so myself, I really love this production.

Most of the wonderful original cast are back, and I’ve heard excellent reports on the performances of Rebecca Massey, Lucia Mastrantone and Pip Miller, the fresh legs from the reserves bench. I’m looking forward to seeing them too.

The Book of Everything will be in the larger venue of the Seymour Centre this time, from September 20th – October 1st.

Please come and see it, then see it again, and bring your family and friends!

For more information and bookings, go to http://www.belvoir.com.au/productions-1/the-book-of-everything

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “THE BOOK OF EVERYTHING: back in Sydney this week

  1. I would love to see it, but I won’t be in Sydney – perhaps New York next year.

  2. NY 2012 sounds fine, BdL. My plan is to see it there too!

  3. I’ll have to wait until my boys are a little older for this one. I would love to take them to a play. They are still at your earlier writings, Bananas…

  4. Pingback: And another thing … | Merridy Eastman

Leave a comment